Friday, April 10, 2009

NFL drafts 16 from MWC

16 players from the MWC were selected in the '09 NFL draft, nearly matching the conference-high mark of 17, set in 2005 (including then C-USA member TCU's picks from that year).

TCU led with five: LB Jason Phillips (5th, Ravens), LB Robert Henson (6th, Redskins), S Stephen Hodge (6th, Cowboys), RB Aaron Brown (6th, Lions), and C Blake Schlueter (7th, Broncos).
Utah had four: DE Paul Kruger (2nd, Ravens), CB Sean Smith (2nd, Dolphins), CB Brice McCain (6th, Texans) and TE/WR Freddie Brown (7th, Bengals).
From BYU: WR Austin Collie (4th, Colts) and RB Fui Vakapuna (6th, Bengals);
New Mexico: CB Glover Quin (4th, Texans) and DB DeAndre Wright (6th, Giants).
RB Gartrell Johnson (4th, Chargers) from Colorado State, OG Lance Louis from SDSU (7th, Bears), and RB Frank Summers from UNLV (5th, Steelers) finish the list.

NFL teams drafted seven MWC players in '08, nine in '07, twelve in '06, seventeen in '05, eight in '04.

By conference: SEC: 37, ACC: 33, Pac 10: 32, Big 10: 28, Big 12: 28, Big East: 27, MWC: 16, C-USA: 10, WAC: 10, MAC: at least 2, SunBelt: 2.

No comments: